Breaking Out and Working Out

Wash Your Face!

I recently have been finding a few blemishes here and there and for some reason they just keep coming back as soon as I think they’re gone for good!  I’ve tried different face washes and acne treatments to try to get them to disappear, but they’re still sticking around.  My skin has always been relatively clear, so this is unusual for me.  But after some research on the internet, I think I’ve found some answers!  Maybe you are having similar problems?

Wash Your Face Immediately After A Workout – This is where I think I went wrong.  I workout in the morning so afterwards I’ll eat breakfast and eventually hop in the shower.  I thought that was good enough, but apparently not.  As soon as you’re done working out wash your face with whatever cleanser works with your skin type.  Usually you sweat around your hairline and it’s important to keep it clean.  Remember that sweat is not just pure water leaving your body; there are other trace amounts of minerals and what not that may irritate your skin.  So just remember to wash them off and hopefully your skin will thank you!

Shampoo May Be The Culprit

Change Your Shampoo – Yet another thing I’m going to try and see if this is causing my breakout problem.  From what I’ve read online, certain chemicals in shampoos can cause your skin to break out.  I’ve been using Herbal Essences, but I think I’m going to switch to Burt’s Bees because I’ve heard it is more gentle on your skin.  There have been a lot of complaints that Tresseme is another shampoo culprit.  I’m guessing that it also depends on your own skin and you might find these shampoos don’t effect your skin, but maybe another brand does.  If you’re breaking out try to switch shampoos for a month or two and see what happens!

Also, make sure you are eating healthy and drinking plenty of water.  I am convinced that eating certain foods like sweets or really fatty foods will cause your skin to break out.  Plus, water will keep your skin hydrated which is always a plus.

And if you are one of those people who don’t wash their face before bed… start doing it!  Especially if you wear make up, but even if you don’t it’s important to get excess oils and dirt from the day off your skin.

Leave a Reply

