Healthy Apple Crisp

Healthy Apple Crisp

Healthy Apple Crisp

 

I’ve been on an apple kick lately and I had a case of serious overkill when I bought way more apples than I could eat.  I didn’t know what to do with them and I hated for them to go bad. 

I came across a couple of great recipes for healthier apple crisp and I encourage anyone looking for a healthy dessert or treat to give it a whirl! 

I substituted the flour with whole wheat flour and I used regular butter (just because I don’t like the idea of chemicals in margerine). 

With only 131 calories and 3.5 grams of fat – it’s a fantastic substitute for apple pie!

Ingredients

3 medium baking apples, cored, sliced thin
1 tsp cinnamon
2 Tbsp sugar
2 Tbsp flour

Topping:
1 cup quick oats
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 Tbsp heart-healthy margarine

Directions

Mix first four ingredients and place into 9-inch (square or round) baking dish.

In small bowl, mix Topping ingredients until crumbly. Sprinkle topping over the apples.

Bake at 325 degrees until apples are soft and topping is golden brown (about 30 minutes).

Number of Servings: 9

For more great apple recipes check out http://www.dailyspark.com/blog.asp?post=8_healthy_apple_dessert_recipes_for_fall

Leave a Reply

