I Think I Can, I Think I Can

One thing I’ve discovered about running is that it keeps me honest. If I’m stressed or mentally exhausted, it’ll show by making my run that much more difficult. Running puts it all on the table in front of me and forces me to face whatever it is – be it fear, weakness, emotions or lack of faith in myself. I think that is what draws me to it.

When I’m huffing and puffing, I’m overcoming personal obstacles within myself. This is something that forces me to work hard and push myself, something I don’t do often enough.

Today, I ran 3 miles. Not much, but I’m building back up and this was a challenge for me at this point. I increased my distance by about a mile or so, but I did give my legs a short rest midway through when they felt heavy. I did notice this seemed to improve compared to the other day – I’m hoping this means I’m getting stronger!

Also, I have been throwing in some cross training on the elliptical and stationary bike. The bike especially is a nice way to end the workout.

So far so good! Clearly the road to the half marathon isn’t going to be a relaxing, flat path paved in gold. Instead, I’m finding it to be full of surprising hills and various obstacles and paved in loose gravel. I guess that’s life and I’m totally up for the challenge. I know I’ll learn more about myself in the next few months than I ever could have imagined.

4 responses to “I Think I Can, I Think I Can

Leave a Reply

