Twitter Road Racing and a Progress Update

My version of snow shoes

It seems the Twitter Road Race was a huge success, and I’m really happy to have been a part of it. There was a total of 376 runners that took part in this event from 14 different countries. People every where, from the U.S. to Switzerland to Saudi Arabia, all pounded the pavement yesterday. The results are in, and I am pretty content with how I did!

My time for the 5K was 31:54.

Overall, I was #248 out 0f 376.

Out of all the women who raced, I was #109 out of 202.

In my age group, I was #35 out of 60.

(The overall winner was a man from Iowa who ran the 5K in 16:54!)

So it seems I fell right in the middle in each category, which I’m happy with.  I improved my pace down to 9:50/mi.  This is important because it shows that I’m getting faster.  I’m also becoming more and more consistent in my pace.

Let’s compare, shall we?

This is from right around the first week of January

This is from yesterday

So in about 3 weeks, I’ve cut quite a bit off my pace time. I’ve also become more of a steady runner. Being able to look back and see where I’ve been, and where I am today is very motivating to me.  I’m so thankful for my Garmin and warm running clothes. Yesterday was so cold and the roads were slippery. I was at my parent’s house and was running on the back roads. Every time a car came, I had to jump into the snow to keep from getting hit. Luckily, they don’t get a lot of traffic!

Another tool that I’m seriously utilizing is MotionTraxx. I’ve mentioned this podcast in another post of mine, but I’m still hooked. I’ve used their 150-160bpm episodes, and I feel they’ve helped me with my breathing, pace and just to keep me going. The music gets my blood pumping, and sometimes I don’t even notice that it’s below freezing and I can’t feel my nose. If you haven’t already, I highly recommend giving it a try.

This week, my mileage increases a little bit.

Monday: 3 miles

Wednesday: Cross-training

Thursday: 3 miles

Saturday: 5 miles

I might do some extra non-running exercises like yoga or the elliptical on the off-days. For cross-training, I’m thinking of hitting up the gym to use their stationary bike. I’ve read that it’s a good choice for runners because it mimics the running motion, but without the impact.

Is it wrong to imagine people holding up signs like this when I go running?

Okay, enough about me.

How was your weekend? Anyone get in a workout, or break a sweat? If you got caught in a snow storm, I would say shoveling counts.

10 responses to “Twitter Road Racing and a Progress Update

  1. It’s fun to see progress, isn’t it? I wish I had done the twitter road race, but Saturday was a rest day and today was my long run (9 miles).

    • It was definitely a good excuse to go running! But it sounds like you tripled the mileage anyways – race or no race! Nice job! I can’t wait till I can run for that long — all in good time I suppose :)

  2. The bike is supposed to be good, but I like spinning the best when I make myself go. I really need to be better about cross-training, but I hope my pilates/yoga class suffices. This looks like a good schedule for the week to me, good luck!

    • Oh I’ve never actually tried spinning before! They offer classes at my gym, and I’ve always wanted to check it out. But I imagine both pilates and yoga classes are great because your strengthening your muscles and gaining flexibility. I’ve tried a few yoga dvds, and I can definitely tell my body is working hard from holding some of those poses!

  3. You’re a dedicated runner. We had a big snow storm, so I bailed on the Twitter Road Race. I’m glad to see so many people did it and enjoyed it. I hope it isn’t the only one.

    • I definitely don’t blame you for deciding against it! The snow here was pretty much over by the time I headed out. If it had been bad, I would have stayed inside too! But I have a feeling this won’t be the last of the Twitter races. People seemed to respond well to it, so hopefully it won’t be too long before the next one!

  4. Congrats on improving your pace and keeping t consistent! I also like to listen to Motion Traxx during my runs. DJ Deekron puts in some powerful tunes right where I need them. Happy to have found your blog!

    • Thanks for stopping by and for your comments! I checked out your blog as well, and good luck training for your first marathon! That’s so exciting! Maybe once I tackle this half I’ll set my sights on the full on 26.2. We shall see though! Right now just thinking about 13 miles seems daunting :)

  5. Hey Kristen – thanks to the internet our blogs crossed paths and thanks for taking a read at mine. You will indeed get up to the mileage that I am at – I run 2 marathons a year so have a ‘mesocycle’ of 16 week programme, followed by 4 weeks post-race ‘relax’ then some kind of crisis, followed by a 6 weeks of limbering up to the next event = 26 weeks. With focus, trust in your programme, listening to your body (esp in the early days when getting to a ‘base’), good nutrition and good sleep you will achieve your goal. I am now subscribed to you so will bore you with tips until you till me to shut up! Well done for going out in the snow. I love the cold weather over the warm weather for running but its been quite mild here so far. x

    • Wow that’s so amazing to me that you run two marathons a year! The thought of running one seems so unreal to me at this point! But I think that will be my next goal after I accomplish the half. Just curious, how long have you been running marathons? You seem like a pro! And absolutely feel free to offer up as many tips as possible because I want to learn as much as I can, and I would appreciate any advice you have! And thanks for following along :)

Leave a Reply

