Finding Motivation through…Pinterest?

I feel like I was one of the last few people among my friends to jump on the Pinterest bandwagon. The last thing I thought I would need is yet another computerized distraction to keep me from getting real work done. That being said, I finally broke down and joined the pinning community. I had no idea I would find so many useful tips, tricks, quotes, or workouts to help with my training — or simply to get my butt off the couch and out the door!

Last Saturday, I was facing my first 6-mile run of this training program. I felt overwhelmed by my fear of failure. The little voice in my head was trying to talk me out of it. I was tired. I had an essay to write for class. The weather would be better the next day. All of these excuses flooded my brain as a result.

I was procrastinating, which is usually what happens when I’m faced with a challenge that I’m not sure I’m ready to tackle. I found myself browsing Pinterest, and wasting time. Thankfully, the fitness category was chuck full of motivating tidbits that managed to tune out the negative self-talk. Before I knew it, I was double knotting my tennies and strapping on my Garmin — ready for the challenge. Before I left the house, I grabbed a pen and wrote, “6-miles. Don’t quit and don’t stop,” on the back of my hand, just for good measure.

The first 3-miles seemed to breeze on by. I didn’t check my pace as I went, but instead listened for the beeping of my Garmin to tell me when I completed another mile. I thought that sneaking a peek might psyche myself out. By the last stretch, I could tell I was getting tired and my legs felt heavy. I was almost within view of my house, and kept up the pace. I rejoiced when I heard the final beep telling me that I had reached my goal for the day!

The sense of accomplishment was amazing. I can’t imagine what I will feel like when I cross the finish line in an actual race! I’ll probably laugh, cry, fall over from exhaustion, and be looking for a snack all at the same time.

I have to say, my attitude toward Pinterest has certainly changed. It may be a weird way to find motivation, but it worked for me that day and it has worked for me since. I guess anything to get me out the door!

The week after that infamous 6-miler was pretty easy, and this Sunday my long run was only 4-miles. But from here on out, the training will become more grueling and those 6-mile runs are going to feel like a drop in a bucket compared to what lies ahead. Can’t wait!

Have you found inspiration through “pinning”? 
 How do you get yourself pumped before a long run?
Do you get intimidated by new distances? 

8 responses to “Finding Motivation through…Pinterest?

  1. I love Pinterest! I’ve found motivation for all sorts of things including fitness. (I have a whole “Running Inspiration” board that I revisit before every race).

    And yes, soon you will look back at your progress and be amazed at how far you’ve come. Those 6 mile runs will just get easier and easier.

    • Yay for pinning!! And yes, Pinterest is just a treasure trove of good ideas and inspiration for all sorts of projects and things! And thanks for the confidence boost about my longer mileage ahead! It’s good to know that this will in fact get easier as I go. Right now, anything over 6 miles seems incredible. When I hit the 7 mark, I’m going to be super giddy! :) Thanks for reading!

  2. There is so much motivation on Pinteredt!! I love it and find myself more likely yo keep pushing myself after seeing a great quote, motivation, or photo. I love it!

  3. Love this and love pinterest! It reeeeeally is a great source of inspiration! Glad you found some, got out there and conquered those 6 miles!

    • Thanks for the reading and commenting! I’m so happy you agree with me about using pinning to get pumped for a good run! And hopefully it works again this weekend – looks like I’ll be running in snow!

      • Will this be a first time to do that?? That’s kind of exciting!!! How far will you be going this weekend?

      • Oh no, I’ve ran in the snow before! But we’re supposed to get like a massive amount off and on this week, so things might get messy! I’ll probably be slip sliding all over the place! Haha! And I’m supposed to do 6 miles again for my long run — I’m hoping if I go slow and steady I won’t wipe out!

Leave a Reply

